วันอังคารที่ 23 มิถุนายน พ.ศ. 2552



trung

Trang Province motto:

City prince Ratsada Public unselfish people. Roasted pork ROTLERT Rubber origin. Outstanding Sritrag elegant flowers. Sea coral. Charming beauty sand. Dazzlingly beautiful waterfall.






History:

Trang province in the ancient area. Was the location of prehistoric communities. Evidence from the New Stone Age antiquities found digging tools such as stone ware etc. skeleton นา the district under Muang Trang, and has been the influence of Buddhism from India Hinyan doctrine. Kingdom era in Sriwichai When Sri ธร dynasty, the royal administration melancholic Nakhon Si Thammarat Trang City is one of 12 cities in both cities have a logo or brand of the Horse and the horse directly to the City upon the City until the Rattanakosin era. Trang city has set up the first time. The Buddha Prabat Somdej excellent atmosphere yards. He named his industry Ap Trang city, Tani was the first. And the creation of the stick has to Cwn Tani later reign when the king tour lands 5 Year in 2433 when southern Trang city Seer disrepair so He has to please the prince Ratsada loyal support artificial Mhisr (neck Sim crush Na Ranong) the tenure pacha Trang And create prosperity to stick galore The city moved to set the Kantang Trang River mouth. And develop a commercial port. It also encourages the cultivation of rubber Trang province first

Attractions:
Hat Chao Mai National Park Covering a territory of the west coast, 20 kilometers long and attractions in the park area including the beach The beach entrance to the granary yard long beach beach beach short Yong Do you? Cave Monkey Beach Attractions are you?. This car can easily reach you? cave except to sit by a canal boat to you? another 15 minutes on the island is also the number 9 Island County Park, including The Island of Koh leech rope island island Ring the island and the island มุก Island board you are? Hat Chao Mai National Park Space has announced a total of 144,300 rai of national park on 14 October 2524 the park office. Located on the beach garner yards. Go to the line Trang - Sikao Sieka district prior to separation. Turn left to follow Route Hat Pak Meng Tnnladyag distance calls over a 40 km beach of The entrance to the left along the beach road 7 km of beaches garner more yards. Area covered with tourist information In a toilet. Prepare and place, open dance. Need for the camp. More details contact National Park Division, Forestry Department Tel: 5790529, 5794842.

Generality:
Coastline and sea and islands of Trang Province cataract offshore from the estuary over the local district to district Sieka Kantag in the area. National Park beaches, you have space? 144,292.35 Rai has been declared a national park established on 14 October 2524 the government gazette announced on 19 together at 170 National Park is No. 36 out of the area can share a part 2.

Attractions Links :
During the months from December to April. Monsoon period is free. Opportunities open to flight Hat Chao Mai National Park This will be interesting to find that in many natural forms including: Hot spring is located away from the hot spring area district that Kantag District 6 km of warm water in the pond temperature not lower than 70 degrees C in a bubble that pop up as well from time to time have faded scent. Insertion of sulfur up.

Away from you? Trang Province 59 kilometers along the shore if the oral and More through 47 kilometers, if you? Kantag island is by sea round the canal and another one in a fit mast ฉลาม unique symbolic He ฉลาม from mast กิ to 5 Oe, the stretch of the Cape Yong Ling for a long, wide beach that will come into camp for the camper. But cautioned that in the splash Because of water depth and wave next to a beach that is fried long known to the west beach is ideal for you? Shallow water because water play area and wide. Future will see the island far away; Behind a shady patch of pine. Top mast, he is also the beaches of the water, he mast ฉลาม the guards may have a shortcut to rock creek to river bend. Another called the Gulf of hemp you deep into the canal? Cave is located on the beautiful names you sanctum? Which can sail into the cave mouth. Cave you? Multi-storey complex. Substratum is a stalagmite stalactite cave wide pole like the early major Climb a cliff to the right approximately 100 meters to the cave floor. The cave wall look like multiple layers of shell sort. It is clear trough in the floor into the evening before. Yong Ling Beach, the Beach - Short In the south to Long Beach. A parabola parallel to the sand on a beach pine Dong Yong Ling. He is a high-end beach full A river bend and the cavity cavity Which can have a shortcut and walk into the seaside cliffs. Yong from the beach for a road link through to the other side over approximately 1 kilometer up the beach to another beach opposite shore, he called a short distance and look far distant. To the north is the Cape Yong aircraft. Island Island มุก List is a big island in the waters of Trang. If you see photos from the air to see sharp. Cape Island มุก List filed out mid sea. Headland area is home island township มุก List Condemn the beach with the headland and bay shore Pagka 2 white beach areas. Right to enter the water splash. Cliff near the West is very beautiful mysterious hidden cave called Cave or Cave emerald water. The entrance is a small cave. Enough water during the escape boat. Wryness and darkness in the hollow cavity of a narrow range of 80 meters long, is frightened of minutes, but will replace it immediately aroused the mouths of caves. The sea is clear emerald color. Clean, white sand beaches. And some vegetation. Island board to the west of the island มุก List takes approximately 1 hour will travel to another island. Like mountain five consecutive balls in rows That board is the island's most beautiful islands of Trang Sea island with other Around a satellite A white sand beach and clear water to see detail strip of sand under water. North Beach is the best fried long reef out in the sea. Coastal area is shallow water coral. Rope island - the island ring A small island. Cordon on the island มุก List Islands and board A shallow water coral and jungle. And deep water areas around the island rope has shallow cave. To dive or take a boat to escape water guards. To find a small sandy beach. Bat filled cave walls and under the water at the mouth of the cave is a beautiful coral. National Park Office Located on the beach garner yards. Away from the city about 47 kilometers away from the beach and you? 16 kilometers south of the yard until they garner Beach waterfront is a clue that he divided นะ painting red prehistoric period. Vanish with time, but rather the foot of the hill area of the beach with spacious and shady tree species. A pond with freshwater. Suitable for opening top tent camp north of the beach is yards grange canal near the mouth of canals, which is view point A variety of views. The entrance to the beach sand seaside attractions of the city's first Trang Town 40 kilometers away from the first image that attracts visitors eyes are large mid-water, he mast shaped like upturned Tadtaw people sleep longer in the north that he is, or The Islands Meng Symbol for this beach. Trip From Trang province. Provincial highway number to 4046 (line Trang - Sieka) to the 30 km left to the provincial highway number 4162 The entrance to the beach about 40 km distance from the beach, turn left The entrance to the beach along the road about another 7 kilometers. Close to park it. National beach you?

วันพุธที่ 27 พฤษภาคม พ.ศ. 2552






Chanthaburi


Chanthaburi (Thai: จันทบุรี) is a province (changwat) of Thailand. It is located in the east of Thailand, at the border to Battambang and Pailin of Cambodia and the shore to the Gulf of Thailand. The neighboring provinces are Trat in the east and Rayong, Chonburi, Chachoengsao and Sa Kaeo.



History


After the Paknam crisis in 1893 the French colonist troops occupied Chanthaburi, returning it in 1905 when Thailand gave up ownership of the western part of Cambodia. A significant minority of Chanthaburi citizens are native Vietnamese, who came there in three waves - first in the 19th century during an anti-Catholic persecution in Cochin China, a second wave came in the 1920s to 1940s fleeing from French Indochina, and a third one after the communist victory in Vietnam in 1975. Thus the town of Chanthaburi is the seat of a Bishop of Chanthaburi since 1944.




The province is subdivided in 10 districts (amphoe). These are further subdivided into 76 subdistricts (tambon) and 690 villages (muban).
Mueang Chanthaburi
Khlung
Tha Mai
Pong Nam Ron
Makham
Laem Sing
Soi Dao
Kaeng Hang Maeo
Na Yai Am
Khao Khitchakut




Sights



King Taksin the Great Shrine (ศาลสมเด็จพระเจ้าตากสินมหาราช): The shrine is a nonagonal building with a roof taking the shape of a royal hat with a pointed spire constructed in 1920 A.D. It houses a statue of King Taksin the Great to whom a large number of people come to pay respect each day.
City Pillar Shrine (ศาลหลักเมืองจันทบุรี): The shrine is assumed to have been originally built of laterite though it is unknown how it looked like. The present shrine and city pillar were constructed in 1981 and have undergone restoration.
King Taksin the Great Monument (พระบรมราชานุสาวรีย์สมเด็จพระเจ้าตากสินมหาราช): The monument of King Taksin the Great accompanied by his 4 trusted soldiers in memorial of the historic liberation of the Kingdom of Ayutthaya is situated on an islet in the middle of the swamp.
Si Chan Road (ถนนศรีจันทร์) is the commercial area and centre of gem business. Even though actual gem-mining in the province is not as extensively as it used to be, Chanthaburi remains a major centre for gem dealings with stones from neighbouring countries and abroad being bought and sold.
Wat Phai Lom (วัดไผ่ล้อม) Concerning the architecture, the building is surrounded by a boundary wall in four directions with an entrance on each side. Behind the temple, there is a corridor supported by five pillars without decorative capitals. The building’s base line is straight, and there is a pagoda with twelve-redented corners within the wall.
The Catholic Church Chanthaburi (โบสถ์คาทอลิกจันทบุรี หรือ อาสนวิหารพระนางมารีอาปฏิสนธินิรมล): According to history, the construction of this old and large Catholic Church took 275 years to complete. It was built into the Gothic architecture with beautiful stained glass decorations depicting Christian saints.
Wang Suan Ban Kaeo (วังสวนบ้านแก้ว) The palace used to be a royal residence of Queen Rambhai Barni, the Royal Consort of King Rama VII. It also served as the Queen’s office and demonstration centre where plants were grown and animals raised for the local people.
Wat Phlap (วัดพลับ) The hall was also used as the place to hold the Ceremony of Murathaphisek or making sacred water - water for pouring over the king’s head in the coronation ceremony or other royal rituals - at the beginning of the Chakri Dynasty. Furthermore, behind the temple, there used to be a “Sam Sang”, an ancient crematorium which is believed to have remained only in this temple.
Wat Thong Thua (วัดทองทั่ว) is the site of an ancient Bot which was built over a Khmer-style temple. It also has a large collection of ancient Khmer sculptures. Nearby is the Mueang Phaniat archaeological site with its remains of laterite base of a large Khmer religious sanctuary and moats marking the town limit the south.
Boran Sathan Mueang Phaniat (โบราณสถานเมืองเพนียด) It is assumed that this monument might be the original settlement of Chanthaburi City in an early age, about a thousand years ago. Nowadays, only a ruined sandstone wall and an unidentified earth mound with a height of about 1 - 3 metres remains.
Wat Bot Mueang (วัดโบสถ์เมือง): It is believed to have been constructed in the late Ayutthaya period as evident from its white sandstone boundary markers as well as ordination hall (Phra Ubosot) and Ceylonese bell-shaped Chedi. The temple also houses a lintel of the late Baphuon style (967–1080 A.D.) depicting the God Indra on his Airavata elephant in a niche.
King Taksin Shipyard (อู่ต่อเรือพระเจ้าตาก) or Samet Ngam Shipyard (อู่ต่อเรือเสม็ดงาม): From underwater archaeological excavations and examination, several rectangular dock-like areas were found along the shore as well as parts of an old ship believed to be a three-masted Chinese junk using a rudder and measuring 24 metres long and 5 metres wide.
Boran Sathan Khai Noen Wong (โบราณสถานค่ายเนินวง) The camp space contains an area of the Underwater Archaeology Unit, Fine Arts Department, a storage place of artefacts and pottery taken from the Australian Tide Ship, which trespass Thailand’s waters in the Gulf of Thailand to illegally transport antiques out of the country.
Panichnavee National Museum (พิพิธภัณฑสถานแห่งชาติพาณิชย์นาวี): Located within Noen Wong Fort, the 2-storeyed twin building puts on an exhibition on Thai merchant marine as evidenced by over 20 years of underwater archaeological studies.
Chedi Yot Khao Phloi Waen (เจดีย์ยอดเขาพลอยแหวน): The round Ceylonese-style Chedi contains the Lord Buddha’s relic. There is also a Mondop housing the Buddha’s footprint built in 1928 to replace the original one that had been broken.
Wat Takat Ngao (วัดตะกาดเง้า): It contains a scripture hall or Ho Trai built in the middle of a pond by an artisan of the royal school toward the end of King Rama III’s reign.
Khao Laem Sing Forest Park (วนอุทยานเขาแหลมสิงห์): It covers a total land and marine area of 9,500 rai, including dry evergreen forest and beach forest which are home to important flora and fauna. Marine life can be found on beaches and islands.
Khao Laem Sing (เขาแหลมสิงห์) a small hill located 172 metres above sea level, with a pile of rocks that look like a crouching lion at the front and that gave it the name Khao Laem Sing or the hill of a lion cape.
In front of Ao Krathing is Ko Nom Sao (เกาะนมสาว), which covers an area of approximately 150 rai of wild and densely growing plants. There are steep cliffs in the south, and beaches and coral reefs of some 500 metres long ideal for diving in the north.
Ao Yang (อ่าวยาง) a small shady beach near Ao Krathing.
Ko Chula (เกาะจุฬา) a small island with beautiful corals.
Hat Khung Wiman (หาดคุ้งวิมาน): Located 50 Kilometres from Chanthaburi in Amphoe Na Yai Am.
Laem Sadet–Ao Khung Kraben (แหลมเสด็จ–อ่าวคุ้งกระเบน): Ao Khung Kraben also accommodates the royally-suggested Ao Khung Kraben Development Study Centre which won the Thailand Tourism Awards 2002. The centre is responsible for research and study for appropriate development guidelines of Chanthaburi’s shoreline.
Ao Khung Kraben Non-hunting Area (เขตห้ามล่าสัตว์ป่าอ่าวคุ้งกระเบน): The area suffered deforestation 40 years ago and has just recently seen pioneer plants. There are 4 types of forest within the area; namely, dry evergreen forest, mixed deciduous forest, beach forest and mangrove forest.
Hat Chao Lao (หาดเจ้าหลาว): Located 19 Kilometres from Amphoe Tha Mai next to Hat Laem Sadet.
Laem Sadet Arboretum (สวนรุกขชาติชายหาดแหลมเสด็จ): 25 Kilometres from Amphoe Tha Mai, the picturesque small beach is shady with pine trees and several beach plants.
Khao Chamao–Khao Wong National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติเขาชะเมา–เขาวง) the headwater of Lam Nam Prasae–Rayong’s principal river, covering a total area of approximately 83 square kilometres in Amphoe Khao Chamao, Rayong Province, and Amphoe Kaeng Hang Maeo, Chanthaburi Province.
Tham Khao Wong (ถ้ำเขาวง): surrounded by limestone mountains and evergreen forest which is a habitat of Chan Pha (Dracaena loureiri Gagnep.)–an endangered species of wild animal. More than 80 caves have been discovered in this area with a complex of some 20 connected caves divided into 3 zones.
Wat Khao Sukim (วัดเขาสุกิม): The objective of the temple is to be used as a meditation venue. The temple also houses a large collection of religious items and valuable antiques donated by the public. On display are wax sculptures of over twenty Buddhist monks highly revered by the public.
Khao Khitchakut National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติเขาคิชฌกูฏ): Its moist evergreen forests, hill evergreen forest as well as deciduous forest abound in various herbs, wild orchids, and the rare eaglewood. Its mountainous area provides home for copious wild animals. Places of interest within the national park include:
Namtok Krathing (น้ำตกกระทิง) a large 13-tiered waterfall originating from the Khitchakut Range. There are bamboo forests and various plant species along the way, with a blanket of moss and ferns on both sides. There is also a large beach formed by sand washed down by a flash flood in 1999.
Yot Khao Phrabat (ยอดเขาพระบาท) Interesting spots on top of Khao Phrabat are formed by geological phenomena and related to Buddhist legends such as Sila Chedi, the Buddha’s footprint, stone in the shape of an overturned alms bowl, Tham Ruesi or hermit cave, God Indra’s carriage racing ground, and stones in the shape of a giant turtle and elephant.
Namtok Khlong Chang Se (น้ำตกคลองช้างเซ) located some 10 Kilometres from the national park’s headquarters on the way up the Khao Phrabat. It is a circular nature trail starting from the Safeguard Unit.
Namtok Khlong Krasan (น้ำตกคลองกระสัน) a large waterfall amid shady surroundings located near Safeguard Unit 2 (Khlong Phaibun) 8 Kilometres from the national park’s headquarters.
Chanthaburi Herbal Garden (สวนสมุนไพรจันทบุรี) an agency under the Medical Science Department, Ministry of Public Health, located 25 Kilometres from Chanthaburi provincial town.
Khiri Than Dam (เขื่อนคีรีธาร) is a multi-purpose dam for electricity generation, irrigation, fishery, as well as, prevention and alleviation of floods in the rainy season. Its highest altitude for water is 205 metres from sea level, with a carrying capacity of approximately 76 million cubic metres.
Chong Phakkat Thai-Cambodian Border Market (ตลาดชายแดนไทย-กัมพูชา ช่องผักกาด) located at Ban Khlong Yai, Mu 4 Tambon Khlong Yai, 30 Kilometres from Pong Nam Ron District Office, 20 Kilometres from Pailin and 68 Kilometres from Preah Tabong in Cambodia.
Ban Laem Thai-Cambodian Border Market (ตลาดชายแดนไทย-กัมพูชา บ้านแหลม) located at Ban Laem, Mu 4 Tambon Thep Nimit, 46 Kilometres from Pong Nam Ron District Office.
Namtok Hin Dat (น้ำตกหินดาด) The 12-tiered waterfall is surrounded by an intact evergreen forest, with its 9th-12th tiers being especially breathtaking.
Namtok Khao Soi Dao (น้ำตกเขาสอยดาว) The waterfall has 16 tiers with a large swarm of butterflies ideal for butterfly watching and plant study.
Wat Mangkon Buppharam or Wat Leng Hua Yi (วัดมังกรบุปผาราม หรือ วัดเล่งฮัวยี่) There is a reception hall and ordination hall, decorated with mosaics in different beautiful patterns.
Namtok Phlio National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติน้ำตกพลิ้ว) covering a total area of 84,063 rai with various species of flora such as Khanun Pa, Krathon Pa, Phimsen, etc., and fauna, the most frequently seen including boar, serow, mongoose, ground squirrel, Asiatic black bear, gibbon, monkey, etc. It is also home to several kinds of fish.
Namtok Khlong Narai (น้ำตกคลองนารายณ์) otherwise known as “Namtok Khao So Bap”, located some 8 Kilometres from the provincial town on the Chanthaburi – Laem Sing route.
Namtok Phlio (น้ำตกพลิ้ว) It is a medium-scale waterfall originating from an underground stream that springs and cascades over the cliff down to a pool below. Before reaching the waterfall, there is a pool which is a natural habitat of soro brook carp that reside in the stream of waterfalls in some regions only. There are also 2 important monuments within the waterfall area including:
Alongkon Chedi (อลงกรณ์เจดีย์) built from laterite in 1876 A.D. by King Rama V in memory of the king’s and his beloved consort’s, Queen Sunantha Kumarirat, visit to the waterfall in 1874.
Phranang Ruea Lom Pyramid (ปิรามิดพระนางเรือล่ม) a pyramidal stupa built from granite in 1881 in memory of the affectionate love of King Rama Ⅴtoward Queen Sunantha who was killed in a boat accident on the Chao Phraya River.
Namtok Trok Nong (น้ำตกตรอกนอง) The waterfall has 3 tiers. The 1st tier is known as “Namtok Mai Si” (Mai Si refers to bamboo). The 2nd tier is called “Namtok Klang” which is about 1 Kilometres away from the 1st tier. The 3rd tier is “Namtok Trok Nong” located about 1 Kilometres from the 2nd tier and cascades down a cliff of approximately 20 metres high.
Phuttha-utthayan Wat Chak Yai (พุทธอุทยานวัดชากใหญ่) It is a Buddhist park featuring a fine sculptural exhibition of the Life of the Lord Buddha with narrative signs.
Khuk Khi Kai (คุกขี้ไก่) was built to hold Thais who were against the French occupation of Chanthaburi in 1893. A 7-metre high, square-shaped prison, it was built in bricks with each side measuring 4.40 metres.
Tuk Daeng (ตึกแดง)' A single storey, red-tiled roof building, today it serves as the Laem Sing district public library.
Hat Laem Sing (หาดแหลมสิงห์) The beach itself is shaded with pine trees lining the entire shore and cooled by constant gentle breezes.
Oasis Sea World (โอเอซิส ซี เวิลด์) It is the place to reproduce and conserve dolphins in Chanthaburi’s watercourses.
Hot Springs (บ่อน้ำพุร้อน) 3 natural hot springs surrounded by longan and durian orchards, located 18 Kilometres from Amphoe Pong Nam Ron on Highway No. 3193.
“Manut Boran” Archaeological Site (สถานโบราณคดี “มนุษย์โบราณ”) excavation site located 25 Kilometres from Amphoe Pong Nam Ron. Prehistoric human skeletons, stone tools, artefacts, pottery and ornaments of some 4,000 years old, now removed from the pits, were unearthed.
Khao Sip Ha Chan National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติเขาสิบห้าชั้น) or Namtok Nam Pen (น้ำตกน้ำเป็น) Places of interest include waterfalls like Namtok Saba, Namtok I Kek and especially Namtok Khao Sip Ha Chan, a breathtaking 15-tiered waterfall with water all year round.





NAKHONSAWAN


General Information
Nakhon Sawan Province, also known as “ Pak Nam Pho ” is where the rivers of Ping, Wang, Yom, and Nan converge and form the Chao Phraya River, the most important waterway of Thailand.
Nakhon Sawan is in the lower northern part of the country between the North and the Central Region. It is regarded as “the doorway to the North” and it is the hub of transportation in the Lower North.
How to get there
Car
From Bangkok, take Highway No. 1 (Phahon Yothin Road) to Km. 52 then Highway No. 32 (Asian Highway) past Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Ang Thong, Sing Buri, Chai Nat, and Uthai Thani into Nakhon Sawan. The total distance is about 240 kilometers.


Chao Pho-Chao Mae Pak Nam Pho Procession Festival

Chao Pho-Chao Mae Pak Nam Pho Procession Festival is a festival of Thais of Chinese ancestry who live in Nakhon Sawan. The festival has been continued since ancient times. It is held during Chinese New Year (around February every year) to bring good fortune. The festival features various processions such as lion parade, dragon parade, angel procession, the goddess Kuan Im procession, and others going along main roads in the municipality. The festival is famous among Thais and foreigners.










วันอังคารที่ 5 พฤษภาคม พ.ศ. 2552



Krabi


(Thai: กระบี่) is one of the southern provinces (changwat) of Thailand, at the shore of the Andaman Sea
Geography The province is located at the shore to the Andaman Sea and is an area of outstanding natural beauty. Most notable are the solitary limestone hills, both on the land and in the sea as islands. Rock climbers from all over the world travel to Ton Sai Beach and Railay Beach to climb. These beaches form part of Krabi's Phra Nang Peninsula. Of about 130 islands belonging to the province, Ko Phi Phi Leh is perhaps the most famous, as it was the set of the movie The Beach. The coast of the province was badly damaged by the tsunami on December 26 2004.
Other islands include: Ko Phi Phi Don, part of the Phi Phi Islands, and Ko Lanta, a larger island to the south.
The limestone hills contain many caves, most having beautiful stalactites and stalagmites. Tham Chao Le and Tham Phi Hua To, both in Ao Luek district, contain prehistoric rock-painting depicting humans, animals as well as geometrical shapes. In Lang Rong Rien cave in 1986 archaeologists found 40,000 year old human artifacts - stone tools, pottery as well as bones. It is one of the oldest traces of human occupation in all South-East Asia. The caves of Krabi are also one of the main sources of nests of the Edible-nest Swiftlet, used to create bird's nest soup.

History The first human remains in the province date back to 25,000 - 35,000 B.C., but the first recorded history dates back to Kingdom of Ligor in 1200, when the city Ban Thai Samor was part of this kingdom. In modern Thailand, Krabi was administered from Nakhon Si Thammarat, even after 1872 when king Chulalongkorn gave Krabi the status of a town. In 1875 it was made a direct subordinate of Bangkok, thus becoming what is now a province. In 1900 the governor moved the center of the province from Ban Talad Kao to its present location at the mouth of the Krabi river.
It is believed that this town may have taken its name after the meaning of Krabi, which means sword. This may have stemmed from a legend that an ancient sword was unearthed prior to the city’s founding.

Transportation
Airplane
Krabi International Airport (KBV) This recently opened airport is about 10 km from the city limits and operates regular flights to many foreign destinations. Thailand's only Seaplane service also routinely flies in and out of Krabi’s islands and Ao Nang Beach to numerous destinations.
Train
Trains from Bangkok and the North, and Malaysia and the South, stop at Surat Thani from where a transfer by road is necessary.
Bus
There are both non air-conditioned and air-conditioned buses to Bangkok and other southern provinces. There are also non air-condition inter-provincial buses.
Roads
There are five major highways linking Krabi’s districts and neighbouring provinces.
Ferry Boat
There are frequent ferry boats to Ko Phi Phi, Ko Jum and Ko Lanta. These usually carry passengers as well as vehicles across the sides.
Boat
There are numerous companies on the island offering boat services around the islands and for those going diving.
Songthaew (public passenger pick-up vehicles)
The public passenger pick-up vehicles, also called Songthaew, are very common in Krabi. People usually use this facility cover their distances within the province.
Tourism Mu Ko Phi Phi (หมู่เกาะพีพี) Located 42 kilometres from the provincial town of Krabi, Mu Ko Phi Phi (Phi Phi Islands) are an archipelago, formerly called Pulao Piah Pi. The surrounding sea is home to a variety of underwater anemones, coral reefs, and colourful marine life. The area is also a popular destination for snorkelling. Attractions of Mu Ko Phi Phi:
Su-san Hoi (Shell Cemetery) (สุสานหอย) Once a large freshwater swamp, the habitat of diverse mollusks of about 2 cm in size, Su-san Hoi features a slab formed from a huge number of embedded various types of mollusks which can be dated to approximately 40 million years ago. With changes on the surface of the earth, seawater flooded the freshwater swamp and the limestone elements in the seawater enveloped the submerged mollusks resulting in a homogenous layer of fossilized mollusk shells forty centimetres thick known as Shelley Limestone. With geographical upheavals, the limestone layer is now distributed in great broken sheets of impressive magnitude on the seashore.
Ao Nang (อ่าวนาง) Ao Nang Beach, is Krabi's most developed beach. Fringed by palms, the long beach is backed by a wide range of accommodation including resorts, bungalows and guesthouses. There are more than 83 offshore islands, which some of them are shaped like a boot, junk, or parrot’s head. Ko Poda, Ko Mo and Ko Thap are popular destinations among tourists for their beaches and coral reefs. They are popular islands for diving and snorkelling.
Thale Waek or Separated Sea (ทะเลแหวก) During the lowest tide of the day, the sea is gradually separated by the white sand and limestone beach that will appear to connect two islands. From being the site of a meditation centre, it is also a place of archaeological interest, dating from the prehistoric into proto-historic times. Stone tools, potsherds, and unbaked clay votive.
Namtok Ron Khlong Thom (น้ำตกร้อนคลองท่อม) This area is full of hot springs in a shady forest. The temperature is not too hot at 40-50 degrees Celsius. The hot springs and cool streams converge on a slope to form lovely cascades with warm water.
Mu Ko Lanta National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติหมู่เกาะลันตา) Covering a total area of 152 square kilometres, Mu Ko Lanta National Park is located in Amphoe Ko Lanta and consists of many islands. Some major islands are Ko Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta Noi, Ko Taleng Beng, as well as, other surrounding islands like Mu Ko Ha, Mu Ko Rok, and Ko Ngai.
Activities
Diving & Snorkeling Diving in Krabi is one of the favorite pastimes of tourists because the waters are home to the likes of friendly leopard and whale sharks, turtles, moray eels and dolphins.
Rock Climbing in Krabi has grown very popular over recent years.
Sea Kayaking With a coastline composed of mangroves, limestone, small coves, caves and islands, and an interior with rivers lined with cave systems. Krabi provides a popular environment for kayaking.
Bird Watching There are many hard-to-find birds such as: Gurneys, Finfoots, Bigwinged Brown Kingfishers, Egrets, Bitterns and Herons etc.
Sailing & Cruising Krabi has plenty of anchorages but usually deserted.
Fishing Fishers catch the likes of marlin, sailfish barracuda and tuna.
Jungle Trekking Krabi’s forests with attractive flora and fauna are popular for trekking. The Khao Phanom Bencha National Park and the Khao Pra-Bang Khram are regarded as the two of the favorites among trekkers.
Golf Krabi has one 18-hole golf course to the south of Krabi town with a new development currently underway by an international group including Colin Montgomery.
Spa There are plenty of spas located in the major hotels and resorts. The treatment normally includes both traditional remedies and modern techniques.
Events and Festivals
Sat Duean Sip Festival or Festival of the Tenth Lunar Month (งานประเพณีสารทเดือนสิบ) This is the southern traditional merit making occasion to honour one's ancestors. Food offerings such as Khanom La, Khanom Chohu, Khanom Phong, Khanom Ba, and Khanom Kong or Khai Pla, are made offer to Buddhist monks.
Chak Phra Festival (งานประเพณีชักพระ) The original waterborne procession, where Buddha images are put on elaborately decorated pulpits on boats are pulled along on the river, has been replaced by a land procession. The festival was formerly accompanied with a performance of traditional boat songs. However, the traditional waterborne songs have since disappeared.
Loi Ruea Chao Le Festival (ประเพณีลอยเรือชาวเล) This old ritualistic tradition takes place on Ko Lanta during the full moon of the sixth and eleventh month in the lunar calendar. This is a religious rite performed by the sea gypsies of Ko Lanta, as well as, from other neighbouring areas, who gather on the beach near Sala Dan Village. They dance their famous "rong ngeng" round the boats of misfortune to be set adrift. Ceremonies feature singing and dancing. This festival is expected to bring prosperity and happiness to the participants.
Folk Entertainment
Like Pa (ลิเกป่า) An adapted play, Like Pa follows the adventures of an Indian merchant from Calcutta who married a local girl named Yayi. The story is then followed by other plays. Like Pa is accompanied by the music of folk instruments such as various kinds of drums, cymbals, and gongs. The lyrics are a mixture of the traditional Manora and Buranyawa songs. With its long history of popularity in Krabi, Like Pa performers are abundant here. It is believed that the play originated in this province. Many companies are still performing this dramatic art such as Mr. Truek Plodrit who won a cultural award.
Shadow Plays (หนังตะลุง) This is an Indian influence. There are many shadow play or nang talung companies in Krabi.
Manora (มโนราห์) The performance is native to southern Thailand, which truly reflects its traditional culture.
Rong Ngeng (รองเง็ง) and Phleng Tanyong (เพลงตันหยง) A Malaysian adaptation, which is of Portuguese origin, rong ngeng is a traditional folk dance and music customarily performed in noble houses. It was later performed by the locals with Thai lyrics called phleng tanyong.






วันอังคารที่ 28 เมษายน พ.ศ. 2552


Trat


Trat (Thai: ตราด) is a province (changwat) of Thailand. It is located in the east of Thailand, and has borders with Chanthaburi Province to the northwest, Cambodia to the east, and the Gulf of Thailand to the south.


History

The history of Trat can be traced back to the reign of King Prasat Thong of the Ayutthaya Kingdom. Formerly known as Mueang Thung Yai, Trat has played an important role in the development of country’s stability and economy due to its strategic location. The town of Trat has later become a community of Chinese Merchants.
Trat served as a checkpoint and buffer city in 1767 and was responsible for providing provisions to King
Taksin the Great before he moved his navy from Chanthaburi to Ayutthaya, where he expelled the Burmese and liberated the Kingdom from Burmese rule.

In Rattanakosin era, during the Paknam crisis in 1893 the French colonist army occupied the western part of Chantaburi. In 1904 in order to get back Chantaburi Siam had to give Trat to French Indochina. Trat became part of Thailand again on March 23, 1906 in exchange for many areas east of the Mekong river like Battambang, Siam Nakhon and Sisophon.
During the Indochina War, the French Navy tried to seize Trat again. The French – Thai Battle broke out on 5 January 1941. The battle ended 17 January at
Ko Chang, when three Thai ships were sunk - the HTMS Chonburi, HTMS Songkhla and HTMS Thonburi. Later the Japanese ended the conflict by diplomacy.


Administration

The province is subdivided in 7 districts (amphoe). These are further subdivided into 38 subdistricts (tambon) and 254 villages (muban).
Mueang Trat
Khlong Yai
Khao Saming
Bo Rai
Laem Ngop
Ko Kut
Ko Chang


Sights

Wat Buppharam (วัดบุปผาราม) or Wat Plai Khlong (วัดปลายคลอง) It is the province’s oldest temple built around the reign of King Prasat Thong (1648 A.D.). Lately, a temple museum was established and the temple’s landscape has been well tidied, so it has become a local religious centre.
Wat Yotha Nimit (วัดโยธานิมิตร), also known as Wat Bot (วัดโบสถ์), is the only royal temple in Trat. The temple was once used as a place to hold the oath of allegiance ceremony. There is an old ordination hall of Ayutthayan art serving as a Wihan called Wihan Yotha Nimit for storing many antiques.
City Pillar Shrine (ศาลเจ้าพ่อหลักเมือง) It is different from other city pillar shrines because of its form as a Chinese pavilion. Every year on the sixth night of the waxing moon period of the sixth lunar month, there is a celebration called, Phli Mueang Day (วันงานพลีเมือง) or known among the Chinese as Xia Gong Sae Yit (วันเซี่ยกงแซยิด) which means the birthday of the City Pillar God.
Wat Phai Lom (วัดไผ่ล้อม) It used to be a resident of Trat’s Father of Education–Than Chaokhun Phra Wimonmethachan Worayannurak. The temple also houses a Buddhist garden for public meditation and Chedi museum of three much revered monks of Trat.
Residang Kampot (โบราณสถานจวนเรสิดัง กัมปอร์ต) a former residence now used as the Office of Probation, Department of Corrections, still in its original architectural style.
Laem Sok (แหลมศอก) was used as the residence of Kromluang Chomphonkhetudomsak, the father of Thai Royal Navel Army. Fishermen villages are found nrae the area.
Wat Khiri Wihan (วัดคีรีวิหาร) The temple features fine architecture with a blend of modern art. Principal buildings inside the temple’s precincts include a large Phra Ubosot or ordination hall, Phra Chedi, reception pavilion for HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn, monk’s residence, preaching hall, and Chinese pavilion enshrining Phra Phuttha Udom Sombun, Bodhisattva Avalokitesvara, and Phra Sangkatchai.
Laem Klat (แหลมกลัด): A white sandy beach sticking out into the sea with not too deep water ideal for swimming.
Wat Saphan Hin (วัดสะพานหิน) Although it is unknown when the temple was built, it is assumed to be more than a hundred years old. There is an old Buddhist ordination hall in the water, approximately 1 km. from the temple.
Hat Sai Ngam (หาดทรายงาม) an approximately 200-metre long white sandy beach running parallel to a grove of pine trees.
Hat Sai Ngoen (หาดทรายเงิน) a not-so-wide beach with a pine forest more ideal for relaxing or fishing than swimming.
Hat Muk Kaeo and Hat Sai Kaeo (หาดมุกแก้ว และหาดทรายแก้ว) have a peaceful atmosphere for recreation. Hat Muk Kaeo is a white sandy beach, which lies along from Hat Sai Ngoen to Hat Sai Kaeo, with the shade of pine and coconut trees all along the beach.
Ratchakarun Thai Red Cross Association’s Khao Lan Center (ศูนย์ราชการุณย์ สภากาชาดไทย เขาล้าน) Her Majesty the Queen ordered to establish to help Cambodian refugees. However, the center was closed in 1986 since all the refugees returned to their homeland.
Hat Banchuen (หาดบานชื่น), formerly called Hat Maro (หาดมะโร) This beach has delicate sand grain and clear sea water where it is possible to swim.
Thailand’s Narrowest Area (ส่วนที่แคบที่สุดในประเทศไทย) located at Mu 2 Ban Khot Sai, Tambon Hat Lek, on the Trat– Khlong Yai route between Km. 81–82. The area is only 450 metres wide.
Ban Hat Lek Border Market (ตลาดชายแดนบ้านหาดเล็ก) is a village on the Thai-Cambodian border. When fighting in Cambodia was over in 1986, it used to serve as an intermediate marketplace for grain trading between farmers in Cambodia and traders in Ko Kong.
Namtok Salatdai (น้ำตกสลัดได) is situated 7 kilometres from Km. 25 of Highway No. 3157 (Saen Tung-Bo Rai).
Namtok Khlong Kaeo National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติน้ำตกคลองแก้ว) has an area of approximately 65,525 rai (104,840 square kilometres). Interesting places is Namtok Khlong Kaeo.
Ban Nam Chiao (บ้านน้ำเชี่ยว) It is noted for Ngop Nam Chiao, a native hat to ward off the sun. The hat is woven with local palm leafs from plants grown in mangrove area. It is still widely used today as it is light and comfortable.
Ko Chang Naval Battle Memorial (อนุสรณ์สถานยุทธนาวีเกาะช้าง) at Laem Ngop, commemorates the Franco-Thai naval engagement on January 17-21, 1941. There are also the Statue of Prince Chumphon, father of the Thai navy, and a warship-shaped museum displaying old equipment and armament of the fleet with exhibits on the Ko Chang naval battle.
Ko Pui (เกาะปุย) an islet not too far from the shore that makes an ideal attraction for relaxation in shady surroundings. It is conveniently accessible in all seasons and home to coconut groves, herbs and Dinso Phong (white clay body-powder) mentioned at the time of King Rama V’s visit to Trat.
Ao Tan Khu (อ่าวตาลคู่) is a bay with fine sandy beach popular with local people during holidays.
Mu Ko Chang (หมู่เกาะช้าง) located in the middle of the sea and, thus, having an averagely pleasant climate ideal for vacation. Ko Chang is influenced by monsoons from both the northeast and southwest winds, which bar boat access to the island during May–October.
Mu Ko Chang National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติหมู่เกาะช้าง), with an area of 650 square kilometres, covers more than 52 islands. The most famous is Ko Chang. In addition, there are other islands with remaining wonderful nature.
Ko Chang (เกาะช้าง) previously an unsettled island, is now important as a harbour for ships to escape from the monsoon, and dietary or fresh water resources. Ko Chang is the second largest island of the country. The topography contains high mountains and complex stone cliffs.
Ko Chang Naval Battle Site (บริเวณยุทธนาวีเกาะช้าง) The Trat waters near Ao Salak Phet and Ao Salak Khok also added another page in the Thai history of fighting for the country’s sovereignty. 17 January has become a memorial day for the heroic fighting, of which a service is held annually at Ko Chang Naval Battle Memorial in Amphoe Laem Ngop.
Ko Ngam was the first point of confrontation in the Franco–Siamese War in which the French army sent aircraft on a reconnaissance and bombing of the island, whereas Ko Wai is the point where French patrol aircraft crashed after being fired by HTMS Songkhla and HTMS Chon Buri.
Ko Mai Si is a small private island where there is beautiful nature, sandy beaches and clear water –home to diversified marine life and ideal for diving. Various plant species grow wild on the island, which used to be a confrontation site between the Lamotte Piquet and HTMS Thon Buri that was in commission at Ko Lim.
Ao Khlong Son (อ่าวคลองสน): A bay in the northernmost west of the island where Ban Khlong Son Community is located, with a beautiful coral reef.
Namtok Khlong Nonsi (น้ำตกคลองนนทรี): A small waterfall to the northeast of the island accessible by a 3-km. pathway from Ban Dan Mai or about 4 km. from the national park’s headquarters.
Namtok Than Mayom (น้ำตกธารมะยม) a medium 4-tiered waterfall located some 500 metres through a garden behind the national park’s headquarters, with the 3rd tier being the most beautiful.
Namtok Khlong Phlu (น้ำตกคลองพลู): A large and most breathtaking waterfall on Ko Chang with water cascading down 3 tiers of the cliff to a basin, with an entrance located 3 km. from Ao Khlong Phrao.
Hat Sai Yao (หาดทรายยาว) located near Ao Salak Phet to the south of the island with a long stretch of sandy beach.
Monkey Training Centre (โรงเรียนฝึกลิง) located at Hat Sai Khao, the centre provides training as well as shows of monkey’s abilities, especially in collecting coconuts.
Ban Salak Phet (บ้านสลักเพชร) a large and the oldest community on Ko Chang located in the southern part. The villagers’ main occupation is coastal fishery in an advantageous area sheltered from winds and storms by islands and mountains. There is an old temple in front of the village known as Wat Salak Phet.
Namtok Khiri Phet (น้ำตกคีรีเพชร) a single-storeyed waterfall located 3 km. from Ban Salak Phet Community through a rubber plantation.
Namtok Khlong Nueng (น้ำตกคลองหนึ่ง) a small waterfall near Namtok Khiri Phet – Ban Rong Than, located some 2 km. deeper inside the island from the Salak Phet Community with another 480-metre walk. The waterfall cascades down from a narrow gorge for 120 metres.
Bang Bao Fishery Village (หมู่บ้านประมงบางเบ้า) a village of houses on stilts built into the sea with bridges connecting them together. Most of the villagers are descendants of the Salak Phet villagers. The area is an ideal berthing area for fishing boats, with mountains and islands providing a good shelter from wind and storms in the monsoon season.
Ban Rong Than (บ้านโรงถ่าน) a small community located near Salak Phet in the southern part of the island. It is a scenic viewpoint where the mist-covered peak of Khao Salak Phet in the north and Ko Maphrao Nai and mountains near Laem Yai in the east are visible.
Ao Bai Lan (อ่าวใบลาน) located next to Hat Kai Bae.
Hat Kai Bae (หาดไก่แบ้) a sloping and long stretch of beach connecting with Hat Khlong Phrao.
Ko Chang Noi and Laem Chang Noi (เกาะช้างน้อยและแหลมช้างน้อย) located in the north of Ko Chang and housing coral reefs between Laem Chang Noi and Ko Chang Noi.
Ko Man Nok–Ko Man Nai (เกาะมันนอก–เกาะมันใน) small islands opposite Hat Kai Bae with surrounding beaches at low tides and golden seaweeds in the nearby shallows.
Ko Khlum (เกาะคลุ้ม) an island ideal for fishing with a peculiar scenery of rocky areas.
Ko Lao Ya (เกาะเหลายา) a group of islands located to the south of Ko Chang comprising Ko Lao Ya Nai, Ko Lao Ya Klang and Ko Lao Ya Nok.
Ko Wai (เกาะหวาย) The bay to the north of the island houses coral reefs in a perfect condition whereas the western area of Ao Yai provides home to mostly hard corals and scaly giant clams.
Ko Phrao Nok or Ko Sai Khao (เกาะพร้าวนอก หรือ เกาะทรายขาว) located to the south facing Ao Salak Phet. The island has white sandy beaches and shady coconut grove.
Ko Ngam (เกาะง่าม) a twin island connected by a large sand bar located to the southeast of Ko Chang, with an inlet surrounded by the hilly topography where the sea is calm and scenic.
Ko Kut (เกาะกูด) Thailand’s easternmost island in Trat waters, the province’s second largest island next to Ko Chang and the country’s fourth largest island. The topography is generally still in its natural condition, with mountains and ridges forming the headwater of many streams from which originate various waterfalls. The most renowned waterfall on Ko Kut is Namtok Wang Chao.
Ko Mak (เกาะหมาก) The topography is mostly coastal plain with a thicket of coconut groves and rubber plantations. Scenic bays and sandy beaches embracing crystal clear water are all around the island such as Ao Ta Nit, Ao Prong, Ao Phat and Ao Daeng
Ko Kradat (เกาะกระดาษ) It has a flat paper-like topography with Alocasia plants–‘Kradat’ in Thai–growing wild in abundance. The island has a long and white sandy beach with beautiful coral reefs.
Mu Ko Rayang (หมู่เกาะระยั้ง) a group of islands comprising Ko Rayang Nai and Ko Rayang Nok. Ko Rayang Nok is peaceful with white sandy beaches and crystal clear water.
Mu Ko Kra (หมู่เกาะกระ) a group of islets to the west of Ko Mak, a swallow bird’s nest concession area and a diving spot with beautiful corals.
Mu Ko Rang (หมู่เกาะรัง) a group of islets located approximately 6 km. to the west of Ko Mak. There is not sufficient plains area for human habitation on Ko Rang, which is surrounded by islands of various sizes.

วันพุธที่ 4 มีนาคม พ.ศ. 2552



Uttaradit




Uttaradit (Thai: อุตรดิตถ์) is one of the northern provinces (changwat) of Thailand. Neighboring provinces are (from south clockwise) Phitsanulok, Sukhothai, Phrae and Nan. To the east it borders Xaignabouli of Laos.




Uttaradit means northern landing, as it was formerly a trade center on the Nan river.
In the
Sukhothai era several city states (Mueang) subjectto the king were located in the area of the modern province. Mueang Fang was in modern day Mueang Uttaradit district, Mueng Thung Yang in Laplae, and Mueang Ta Chuchok in Tron district.
During the
Ayutthaya kingdom, Mueang Phichai was one of the 16 main Mueang of the Thai kingdom. In the reign of King Naresuan, the ruler of Phichai rebelled, joined by the ruler of Sawankhalok. Their revolt was suppressed and the inhabitant of both cities was forced to move south to Phitsanulok.
Following the fall of the city of Ayutthaya to the Burmese in 1767, Phichai was the site of several battles against the invaders. The ruler of Phichai succeeded in driving back the Burmese and was awarded the title Phraya Phichai Dabhak - the "Lord of Pichai with a Broken Sword", as he had broken one of his swords in fierce hand to hand combat with the enemy.
In the reign of King
Rama III Mueang Phichai controlled several Mueang of northern Siam like Nan or Phrae, and even Luang Prabang and Vientiane. At the point where the Nan river became shallow a port was established. As this town grew in importance as an important trade point, in 1887 it was made a Mueang subordinate of Phichai. 1899 the center of Phichai was moved to this new location, which was renamed to Uttaradit in 1915.[1]




The province is located in the valley of the Nan River. About 45 kilometers north of the city Uttaradit is the Queen Sirikit Dam, created a 250 km² artificial lake from the Nan.
Most of the province was once covered with
teak forests, then the major product of Uttaradit. The largest Teak tree in the world is found at the Ton Sak Yai Park. The 1500 year old tree measures 9.87 m in circumference and 37 m in height - originally it was 48.5 m high, but it was damaged in a storm.
Three National Parks are located in the province—
Klong Tron, Lam Nam Nan and Phu Soi Dao.


The provincial seal shows the mondop at the temple Wat Phra Thaen Sila At, in Baan Phra Thaen in the Laplae district. The main item of worship in the temple is a laterite block, which is believed to have been used by Buddha to seek enlightenment. The mondhop is built upon this block.
The seal was first designed in 1940, later a
garuda as the symbol of Thailand and the name of the province were added.
The provincial tree is the
Teak (Tectona grandis).

The province is subdivided in 9 districts (amphoe). These are further subdivided into 67 communes (tambon) and 562 villages (muban).
Mueang Uttaradit
Tron
Tha Pla
Nam Pat
Fak Tha
Ban Khok
Phichai
Laplae
Thong Saen Khan


Uttaradit is served by a station on the State Railway of Thailand. Beside the Railway, you can access Uttaradit by driving a car, riding a bus from Bus Terminal of Thailand. Also you may travel by a plane to reach Phitsanulok which is the nearest airport.

Sights
Sak Yai (สักใหญ่)
[2] situated at Ban Pang Klua, Tambon Namkrai about 53 km. away from the province with an area of about 20,000 Rai and is consisted of various unsorted woods. Most important of all this Botanical forest has a biggest teak tree in the world, it has a height of 47 meters and the circumference of the tree stem is measured to be 9.58 m. It is about 1,500 years old by comparison of the size and the number of years from the teak stumps in nearby area. At present there is a height of about 37 meters left because the top of the tree was broken by strong wind, but the stem in general is still left in.
Klong Tron (คลองตรอน) national park has a very natural forest covering areas in Tambon Saentor and Tambon Namkrai of Nam Pat district, Tambon Tham Chalong of Mueang Uttaradit district, Tambon Phaluad of Tha Pla district, Tambon Nam Phi, Tambon Phak Kuang, Tambon Borthong of Thong Saen Khan district in Uttaradit province. Total area is 324,240.80 Rai or about 518.80 sq.km. It consists of high and low hills.
Pooh Meaing (ภูเมี่ยง) located at Tambon Nam Pai, Phumieng mountains divide Uttaradit province and Phitsanulok province. They are about 1,656 meters above sea level. At the peak, you can view both provinces and can even see Sirikit dam. Moreover, lots of ferns like Kaluang, Dongtao, and Khanmakpa and other plants are found along the way leading to the peak. Klong Tron waterfall of 8 levels is also there but it’s suitable for those who only enjoy adventure and those nature lovers.
Chan cave (ถ้ำจัน) located at Tambon Nam Krai. It is the middle cave of the mountains where 5 of them are located. The way to the cave is very steep and the cave entrance has semicircle shape. Inside we can see a huge room; ceiling is about 20 meter high and in the middle of the cave of front area a Buddha image is located. Stalagmite and stalactite are lovely while weather is very comfortable and cool.
Tao cave (ถ้ำเต่า) located at Tambon Nam Krai. It is on another mountain and about 620 meters away from Tham Chan Cave. Cave entrance has several big stones; you have to notice in order to recognize the cave. From the cave entrance, a walk way has an excavation which looks like a stone sculpture. The way to the cave is a bit complicated; on the left side has a 17meter long hollow being steep until the first room. From here, there is a tiny hole where you can go through. Another room is linked with the right walk way. From here, you can walk to the large room where a 6-meter high stone pillar is in the middle. In the cave, are beautiful stalagmite and stalactite; weather is comfortable and cool.
Puh Soi Dao (ภูสอยดาว) with an area of 125,110 Rai covering Nam Pad district of Uttaradit and Chat Trakan district of Phitsanulok, the park, particularly at the height 1428 metre in Ban Rom Klao, used to be the strong-hold of the communist terrorists. Located in the mountainous area with over 1,800 meters height above sea level, the topography of the park is like that of Phu Kradung. It is cold throughout the year. Beside interesting natural attractions in the park, carrier and tent are available for tourists.
Phu Soi Dao Waterfall, located near the office of the park, is very shady with trees and plants. The 5 level fall houses a tourist service center, No accommodation, but camping site, is available. From the fall to atop the hill takes about 4 – 5 hrs’ walk.
Sai Tip Waterfall (น้ำตกสายทิพย์) located in the middle of the pinery, is one of the most beautiful falls in the park. It has 7 levels, which can be reached by walking from camping area down to the 7th level, each level is not too high, so high so, tourist can admire the beautiful white and clear water falling down along the rocks, covered with moss and lichen which looks like green velvet.
Wat Thamma Thipatai (วัดธรรมาธิปไตย) is where the door panels of the large and ancient Vihan of Wat Phra Fang are kept. The carved design is of the graceful style of the Late Ayutthaya Period. They are rated as the second best such creation next only to those at Wat Suthat in Bangkok.
Wat Tha Thanon (วัดท่าถนน) houses Luang Pho Phet (หลวงพ่อเพชร), the principal Buddha statue of the province. It is of the Chiang Saen style and cast in bronze.
Wat Yai Tha Sao (วัดใหญ่ท่าเสา) It features and old Vihan with beautiful wood-carved door panels and lintels.
The Phraya Phichai Dap Hak Memorial (อนุสาวรีย์พระยาพิชัยดาบหัก) As governor of Muang Phichai (south of Uttaradit) about 200 years ago during the Thon Buri Period, the valiantly fought with Burmese evaders until one of his swords broke in two. But he prevailed over them. Hence the sobriquet “Phichai of the Broken Sword”.
the Uttaradit Provincial Cultural Hall (หอวัฒนธรรมจังหวัดอุตรดิตถ์) houses important historical relics. A major item is the "Yan Mat" (ยานมาศ), a carved wooden carrying pole made by Late Ayutthaya Period craftsmen.
Wat Klang (วัดกลาง) is an old temple with beautiful plaster bas-reliefs over the Ubosot. Inside are rare wall murals of the Early Rattanakosin Period style depicting the Jataka and assemblage of celestial beings.
The Phra Si Phanommat Memorial (อนุสาวรีย์พระศรีพนมมาศ) commemorates a community leader who was highly repeated by the townspeople. The Chinese-descended tax collector on alcohol products contributed tremendously to the development of the community and was rewarded with the rank of Phra Si Phanommat from King Rama V.
Wat Phra Borom That Thung Yang (วัดพระบรมธาตุทุ่งยั้ง) An old temple, it was once called Wat Mahathat. There is a large, circular-shaped, Ceylonese-style Chedi enshrining a Holy Relic.
Wat Phra Yun Phutthabat Yukhon (วัดพระยืนพุทธบาทยุคล) features a Chiang Saen-style Mondop which covers a pair of holy Footprint. It also houses a Sukhothai-style Buddha statue cast in bronze.
Wat Phra Thaen Sila Art (วัดพระแท่นศิลาอาสน์) The major feature is the base of a sermon platform built with laterite. The square slab with pattern is believed to have been made during the Sukhothai Period.
Namtok Mae Phun (น้ำตกแม่พูล), located at Ban Ton Klua, is about 20 kilometres from town. The dam-like barrier creates multi-level cascades amid pleasant natural surroundings.
Bo Lek Nam Phi (บ่อเหล็กน้ำพี้) is the source of the best quality steel which was used to fashion swords and weapons in the past. Today, there are still two "wells" in existence. Ores from these two sources are believed to have been used to make swords for kings only.
Lamnam Nan National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติลำน้ำน่าน) It is a complex mountain range comprising of various kinds of abundant forests. It covers a total area of 624,468 rai and consists of mixed deciduous forest, dry evergreen forest, hill evergreen forest and deciduous dipterocarp forest, where the leaves will transform into beautiful colours during winter and is a habitat of various types of animals such as barking deer, deer, wild boars, bears and more than 200 kinds of birds. Places of interest in Lamnam Nan National Park are as follows:
Sirikit Dam (เขื่อนสิริกิติ์) is the country’s large earthen dam.
Beyond the dam is a large lake with beautiful scenery. During the cool season, the attractively landscape terrain bursts out in a profusion of colourful flowers and blooms.




Phichit




Phichit (Thai: พิจิตร) is one of the provinces (changwat) of Thailand, located in the north of the country. Neighboring provinces are (from north clockwise) Phitsanulok, Phetchabun, Nakhon Sawan and Kamphaeng Phet.


The rivers Nan and Yom flow through the Phichit province, before they join shortly before the Chao Phraya is formed. The province mainly consists of low fertile river plains, making rice and lotus the main crops.


The town Phichit was established in 1058 by Phraya Kotabongthevaraja, and was first part of the Sukhothai kingdom, and later of Ayutthaya.
The name of the main city changed several times. At first it was called Sra Luang (city of the royal pond), in Ayutthaya times it was called Okhaburi (city in the swamp), and then finally Phichit (beautiful city).



The provincial seal shows a pond, which refers to the old name of Phichit, Mueang Sra Luang (meaning city at the royal pond). The Banyan tree in front refers to the temple Wat Pho Prathab Chang. The temple was built in 1669-71 by King Luang Sorasak, who was born in the village of Pho Prathab Chang, between a Banyan and a Sacred Fig.
The flag of Phichit shows the circular provincial seal in the middle. It has three green bars and two white horizontal bars, with the middle bar being interrupted by the seal.
Provincial tree is the
Ironwood Mesua ferrea, provincial flower is the Lotus (Nymphaea lotus).
The provincial motto (loosely translated) states as follows:
The province of
Chalawan the Crocodile King, the fun and exciting annual boat race, the land of exquisite rice and the delicious Tha Khoi pomelo; the center of the province is the Luang Phor Phet


The province is subdivided in 12 districts (amphoe). These are further subdivided into 89 subdistricts (tambon) and 852 villages (muban).
Mueang Phichit
Wang Sai Phun
Pho Prathap Chang
Taphan Hin
Bang Mun Nak
Pho Thale
Sam Ngam
Tap Khlo
Sak Lek
Bueng Na Rang
Dong Charoen
Wachirabarami

Built on the west bank of the Nan River within town limit in 1845, Wat Tha Luang (วัดท่าหลวง) today houses Luang Pho Phet (หลวงพ่อเพชร), a Chiang Saen-style Buddhist statue cast in bronze.
Bung Si Fai (บึงสีไฟ) is a large fresh-water lake to the south of town. It is a Fishery Department's facility to breed fresh-water. On the other side of the park is an aquarium exhibiting species of native fish and local fishing equipment.
Utthayan Mueang Kao Pichit (อุทยานเมืองเก่าพิจิตร) . The park features an ancient town dating back to more than 900 years. Most of the structures discovered were built during the Sukhothai and Ayutthaya periods. In the town centre is Wat Phra Si Rattana Mahathat (วัดพระศรีรัตนมหาธาตุ) with its large bell-shaped Chedi inside of which have been found hundreds of votive tablets.
Wat Nakhon Chum (วัดนครชุม) It features an old Ubosot built with brick and mortar with the upper parts in wood. In the Ubosot is a large Sukhothai-style Buddha statue once used as the principal statue in oath-taking ceremony pledging allegiance to the monarch.
Wat Khao Rup Chang (วัดเขารูปช้าง) On the hilltop is an old, Ayutthaya-style Chedi built of bricks but with its top part now broken. The Mondop house a bronze Holy Relic.
An old temple in Pho Prathap Chang district is Wat Pho Prathap Chang (วัดโพธิ์ประทับช้าง). It was built by Phra Chao Sua, an Ayutthaya king, in 1701 at a site reputed to be his own birth-place. The entire site is surrounded by double-walls and huge trees, some of which are over 200 years old.
Tapan Hin is the most commercially advanced district of Phichit. The most prominent sight of the district is the 34 metre-tall golden Buddha statue, the Luang Pho To, at Wat Thewaprasat on the Nan river bank opposite the Tapan Hin market.
Wat Bang Khlan (วัดบางคลาน). It was the resident temple of the highly revered monk, the late Luang Pho Ngoen (หลวงพ่อเงิน). The Chai Bowon Museum inside the temple collects ancient items such as votive tablets, Buddha statues and earthenwares for display.


Fruit-growing is one of Phichit's major occupations. Among its more well-known produce are pomelo, jack-fruit, Krathon and Maprang. Fruits are also use in making several kinds of products.
Som O (pomelo) (ส้มโอ) is probably Phichit's most well-known and best-selling fruit. Grown mainly in Pho Prathap Chang district, it has a mixed sweet and sour taste and has no seeds. The flesh is pinkish. There are two seasons for pomelo - October and April. The peels of young pomelo are made into jam-like sweets, highly popular as snack.
Makham Kaeo (มะขามแก้ว) is another highly popular buy. The tamarind fruits are turned into a kind of candy which has a pleasant taste of sourness, saltiness, sweetness and slight pungency.
A popular handicraft of the province is the colourful hand-woven fabric (ผ้าทอมือ).